Tuesday, August 7, 2012 4:49 AM

The Seasons of Worship

Tuesday, August 7, 2012 4:49 AM
Tuesday, August 7, 2012 4:49 AM

Advent waits for the coming of the Messiah.

Christmas celebrates his arrival.

Epiphany heralds the message that Christ has come, not just for the Jews but for the Gentiles and for the whole world.

Lent marks the time to prepare for his death, a period that culminates in the rehearsal of God’s saving deeds in history during Holy Week.

Easter is a fifty-day celebration of Christ’s resurrection.

Pentecost celebrates the coming of the Holy Spirit, the inauguration of the church, and the message that Christ is King.

The season after Pentecost assures us of God’s saving presence in the church as we anticipate the second coming.[1]

[1] Webber, R. (2003). Ancient-future evangelism: Making your church a faith-forming community (77). Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Books.

« back