Friday, February 25, 2011 4:01 AM

The Order of Celestial Beings

Friday, February 25, 2011 4:01 AM
Friday, February 25, 2011 4:01 AM

There are three specific orders of celestial beings: angels, seraphim and cherubim.

1.   Angels

The first basic order of celestial beings, the lowest order, is the order of angels. Sometimes, the term angels is used for all orders of celestial beings, as all celestial beings are angelic beings. Most frequently, however, the term angel applies to the lowest of the three orders. In appearance, these beings look like young men and they do not have wings, as they are so often portrayed.

 2.   Seraphim

The second order of celestial beings are the seraphim, though these are not spoken of very frequently in the Scriptures. In fact, they are spoken of in only two books: Isaiah and Revelation. Seraphim is the plural form of the Hebrew word seraph which means “a burning one,” and the very same word is translated serpent elsewhere in the Old Testament (Num. 21:8; Is. 14:29; 30:6).

 3.   Cherubim

The third and highest order of celestial beings is the cherub or cherubim. The Hebrew word translated cherub has the root meaning “to guard” or “to cover.” It is used a total of ninety-one times: twenty-seven times it is in the singular; sixty-four times it is in the plural. Of these ninety-one times, ninety occur in the Old Testament. Only once is it found in the New Testament (Heb. 9:5).[1]

[1] Fruchtenbaum, A. G. (1983). Vol. 73: The Messianic Bible Study Collection (18). Tustin, Calif.: Ariel Ministries.

« back